New European Commission Takes Office

The new European Commission will take office on 1 December 2019, following the approval of the College of Commissioners by the European Parliament on 27 November.
Commission President-elect von der Leyen, the first woman to lead the Commission, presented the new Commissioners to the Parliament and outlined her main policy priorities, including a European Green Deal, a focus on digitalization and tech issues, and strengthening EU cooperation on economic and financial policies. The new Commission was approved with 461 votes in favour, 157 against and 89 abstentions. The United Kingdom will not be represented, having failed to nominate a candidate Commissioner.