Croatia Takes Over the Presidency of the Council of the EU

On 1 January Croatia took over the six-month rotating presidency of the Council of the EU for the first time since Croatia joined the EU in 2013.
It is the last in the current trio of presidencies, made up of Romania, Finland and now Croatia, with a common programme lasting until 30 June 2020. The motto of the Croatian presidency is "A strong Europe in a world of challenges" and its programme focuses on four main areas:

  • a Europe that develops;
  • a Europe that connects;
  • a Europe that protects;
  • an influential Europe.

More information is available from the website of the Croatian Presidency at