Election of the New President of the European Commission

On Tuesday 16th July, Ursula von der Leyen was elected as the new President of the European Commission.

Following the results of the European elections held in May and her nomination by Member States, the European Parliament in plenary session approved the appointment of Ursula von der Leyen as President of the European Commission by simple majority for a five-year term.

Previously German defence minister, Ms von der Leyen is the first female president of the European Commission. She will take over from current president Jean-Claude Juncker from 1st November 2019, and speaking in the European Parliament she outlined the direction that the Commission will take under her supervision. The main themes that will be dealt with will be, amongst others,  the promotion of effective measures to cope with climate issues, the enhancement of women’s rights and the promotion of social welfare.

CEPI congratulates the new president and wishes her success during her mandate.

CEPI’s views on ongoing real estate challenges for the EU are available in the CEPI Manifesto for the European elections.